Posted by: secondchancehumanesociety | September 12, 2010

Micro-chipping Your Pet is Safe!

Matika the Meticulous

Second Chance Humane Society Pet Column –

Micro-Chipping: Safe & Effective

Dear Pet Column,

I noticed that Second Chance Humane Society recently had a Micro-chip clinic at the Shelter.  I have a cat that could probably benefit from a micro-chip as she regularly slips her collar when outside.  However I have heard scary things about micro-chips and I don’t want to put my cat through the surgery to have it implanted.  Please advise. 

Sincerely, Meek about Micro-Chipping

Dear Meek, my name is “Matika” and the best answer your question is – I sure do wish my parent had made the right choice to micro-chip me!  I find comfort, as I sit here in the Second Chance Shelter waiting for new parents to adopt me,  knowing that my new micro-chip (I received when I arrived here) will link me to them for the rest of my life.   

To dispel the myths or “scary things” you have heard about micro-chips please read closely: micro-chips are harmless and very tiny – the size of a grain of rice.  They are implanted quickly and painlessly into subcutaneous layer of your pet’s skin – no surgery is involved – I barely even felt mine.  The serial number that micro-chips are encoded with can be read by a scanner that most veterinary offices and shelters possess (despite rumors to the contrary, microchips do not have GPS capability to track a missing pet, nor can they be accessed by a satellite, so your pet can not be tracked by a government entity or identified beyond a range of about three to 12 inches). 

This serial number encoded in the micro-chip, detected by a simple scanner, can be tracked immediately to the pet parent listed in a database.  Nothing scary there… and the best thing is that micro-chips save lives – thousands of them.  Consider that an average of 8 to 12 million companion animals end up in shelters across the country each year. Sadly, only about 15 percent of dogs and 2 percent of cats are reunited with their parents.  And of those not reunited, almost 4 million are euthanized.

Obviously, I am not a part of that 2 percent of cats reunited with my parents.  I did not have a micro-chip.

As with any ID method, it is imperative for pet parents to keep your database information current.  More than once pets have arrived at Second Chance with a microchip that did not link to a working phone number or address, thus rendering it useless.

We hope that community members will visit Second Chance Shelter (any day of the week between 10AM and 4 PM) with your pets to take advantage of the great deal offered year round on micro-chipping.  This is the absolutely best way to assure that your pets can quickly be returned if lost and Second Chance is making it affordable at only $25 per pet (normal costs range from $50 and up). 

Because Second Chance believes so strongly in providing all pets with a secure identity source, all adoptable pets, such as me, receive a microchip prior to adoption.  I also happen to come with a great sense of humor, loving and playful personality, and dashing good looks. 

Call the Second Chance Helpline at 626-2273 to report a lost pet, learn about adopting a homeless pet, or about the SCHS Spay/Neuter Financial Assistance, Volunteer & Foster Care, or other Programs.  Visit our shelter pets online: www.secondchancehumanesociety.org.  Direct Pet Column questions to:  kelly@secondchancehumanesociety.orgPhoto by Real Life Photographs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

