Posted by: secondchancehumanesociety | January 29, 2010

Second Chance Alphabet Scavenger Hunting

Hobbs the Alphabet Cat

Hi, I’m Hobbs the Alphabet Cat!   While temporarily living at the Second Chance Shelter waiting for that lucky person to adopt me, I have been entertaining myself by taking shopping trips to the Second Chance Thrift Shop.  It is a great place to learn my abc’s and practice my hunting skills – with Alphabet Shopping Scavenger hunts! 

By shopping at the Second Chance Thrift Shop, in addition to finding amazing bargains and a vast array of items for sale, I am helping our community to recycle and reuse quality merchandise, art, houseware, and so much more.   From A to Z there are thousands of brand name quality products and I will share with you some that I have found:

A is for albums and art supplies , B is for books, bedding and boots, C is for the children’s  department full of clothing and toys where I have found everything from Carter’s to Cartier. 

D is for DVD’s and designer wear, E is for electronics from Sony to Sanyo,  F is for furniture, frames, and fish bowls, but alas no fish… 

For the letter G, I found garden shears, games, and greeting cards, H is for hats, hairdryers, and hiking gear, I is for ice trays, irons, and Indonesian masks, J is juicers,  jigsaw puzzles, and jewelry.  K is for knitting needles and kitten toys. 

 L is for L.L. Bean and Lands End clothing, M is for music, mittens, and men’s wear, N is for napkins and notebooks, and O is for opals and oven supplies.  P is for pantyhose and puppy supplies.

I thought Q might be hard to find, but then I found quiche pans, quart jars, and Bartlett’s Quotations,  R was a snap, as I quickly found rings (as in jewelry), rattles, and rhinestones.  S was also fun when I located, skates, skis, sandals, and swimwear.  For T I found toasters, teacups, and tea towels.  U was more of a challenge, but I found umbrellas and underwear.

V is for vehicles (yes there is a truck in the parking lot up for sale), vases and vintage wear.  W is for winter coats, wrapping paper and window coverings, X was hard, but I found sizes from XS to XL and X-mas gifts and décor all year long.  

Y was another quick find for yoyos, yarn, and yoga mats. I ended with Z for zippers, zebras, (er, stuffed ones) and books on Zen to help me find my inner peace, which I lost when I was abandoned by my parents, but am regaining every day… 

So consider stopping by the thrift shop to help me add great finds to my ABC scavenger list!  As you can see, the Thrift Shop is a fun place to be and it is a place where shopping makes a difference…

The Thrift Shop is open seven days a week, Monday –Saturday 10am to 5pm and Sunday noon to 5pm.  All proceeds from the Thrift Shop go directly toward shelter operations and animal welfare programs so that homeless pets like me can have a second chance.  Currently the Thrift Shop covers 64% of the total operating costs of Second Chance – what a difference your donations and shopping can make!!!

Call the Second Chance Helpline at 626-2273 to report a lost pet, learn about adopting a homeless pet, or about the SCHS Spay/Neuter Financial Assistance, Volunteer & Foster Care, or other Programs.  Visit our shelter pets online: www.secondchancehumanesociety.org.  Direct Pet Column questions to:  kelly@secondchancehumanesociety.orgPhoto by Real Life Photographs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

