Posted by: secondchancehumanesociety | October 13, 2009

The Benefits of Adopting a Senior

 

Sheba of the Shelter

Sheba of the Shelter

 

My name is Sheba, Sheba of the Second Chance Shelter.  I am one of the 14 cats that came to Second Chance after our parent died a few months ago.  A few of us have found new homes but most of us are still waiting.  We have all had dentals, vaccinations, and all but a few are now healthy and ready to move on.  However, being advanced in age makes it challenging to find a new forever home and, although I am only about 8 years old with plenty of spunk, a few of my step-siblings are more at the retired age of 10+ and just need a warm and loving home where they can rest and cuddle.

Recently Second Chance had a successful adoption of a senior cat – the only downside to that great news was that it took almost two years to occur.  Not that this is a bad place, but I would much rather be in a home of my own than here at the shelter for the next two years…but this Pet Column is not a sob story.  It is a story of truth. 

So let me give you the beta about adopting a senior pet – it is actually ideal for many families and worth investigating further. For example, we are so less needy than our younger counterparts and have learned to let go of many of our bad habits and demands.  Most importantly we teach others an acceptance of life that is comparable to the Zen Masters teachings – BE. 

Many people that I have briefly met at the shelter and who have had their hearts opened by my unabashed willingness to extend myself to them have ended up leaving with one of the younger cats here at the shelter.  I do fully comprehend their fear of the potentially shorter lifetime we would have together.  People would rather avoid or prolong the grief of saying goodbye that is a natural part of life, I understand this (remember I am a Zen Master…). 

I also know that we make the most of what we have – and cat life longevity varies from up to 20+ years.  So yes, adopting an older pet has certain risks to it, but there are no guarantees of longevity for any pet you adopt.  The important thing is that the time we have together will be richly rewarded by love, connection, and companionship. 

I am not attempting to persuade someone to bring a pet home that is not the right person or family, but I am asking you to consider that perhaps you ARE the right person.  If you have a warm and comfortable home where I can stay inside and greet you and the rest of the family with willingly received rubs and purrs, you might want to consider coming to meet me or my step-siblings at the shelter. 

Most of all I just want to fulfill my purpose, to love and be loved.  In closing, at the risk of sounding melodramatic, I will leave you with this thought: every day more spent at the shelter is one day less I can spend with you… 

Call the Second Chance Helpline at 626-2273 to report a lost pet, learn about adopting a homeless pet, or about the SCHS Spay/Neuter Financial Assistance, Volunteer & Foster Care, or other Programs.  Visit our shelter pets online: www.secondchancehumanesociety.org.  Direct Pet Column questions to:  kelly@secondchancehumanesociety.orgPhoto by Real Life Photographs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

