Posted by: secondchancehumanesociety | September 16, 2009

Pledge for Life

"Treasue" the real treasure...

"Treasue" the real treasure...

Second Chance Humane Society is very fortunate to not have to resort to euthanasia to make space for other pets.  Not all shelters have that freedom as they are overwhelmed and overburdened with too many homeless pets.  Yes, millions of homeless pets are still being euthanized in shelters across the country every year.  We are making great improvements, reducing the number from 17 million (of just 10 years or so ago) to under 4 million.  But that is still several million too many.

The book “One at a Time: A Week in an American Animal Shelter” confronts the realities of the larger shelters that are forced to euthanize pets on a daily basis.  The authors of “One at a Time”, Diane Leigh and Marilee Geyer wrote a “Pledge for Life” which I wanted to share with all Pet Column readers.  I think it is powerful, and if everyone was willing to take such a pledge millions of homeless pets would not be facing euthanasia.

I care about animals.
I want to help bring about an end to the homeless animal tragedy.
I believe that the euthanasia of millions of animals in shelters every year is an unacceptable solution to this tragedy …

And I understand that my actions have a direct effect, that my actions can create change. 

I pledge to never cause an animal to be in an animal shelter.

I pledge …
To understand the commitment of taking on a companion animal.
To be ready and willing to accept that commitment before I bring an animal into my home and my family.

To educate myself so that I can make a good choice of an animal.

To save a life by adopting a homeless animal from a shelter, rescue group, or from the street.

To protect my companions from becoming lost by keeping them safely confined and wearing current identification at all times.

To not contribute to overpopulation by spaying and neutering my companion animals.

To provide my companion animals with the basics of food and shelter and medical care, and to provide them with the love and companionship they need to be happy.

To include my companion animals as part of my family, to socialize them so that they are comfortable in human society, to train them so that they will be safe and be good citizens.

To work through problems with my companions, and to include them in my own life changes.

To always demonstrate respectul, loving and responsible companion animal care so that others may learn from my example and want to do the same.  

I make this pledge to the animals, between them and me,
to the animals I know, and the ones I may never see,
to the animals in my home, and the ones in our shelters,
to the animals here, and the ones yet to come.

I make this pledge to honor their love and companionship, to acknowledge their intrinsic value, to respect them as living beings who carry the same precious spark of life that I myself do.

I understand that the solutions are in my hands.

I pledge to use those solutions, and in doing so, to begin to create a community and a society that shows compassion, love, and respect for those who cannot speak for themselves.

My name is “Treasure” and as a homeless cat here at the Second Chance Shelter, I urge you to consider taking this pledge.  As I await my new family to find me and discover the treasure that I am, I am grateful to all the supporters of Second Chance, for I will not be one of the millions meeting an untimely ending…

Call the Second Chance Helpline at 626-2273 to report a lost pet, learn about adopting a homeless pet, or about the SCHS Spay/Neuter Financial Assistance, Volunteer & Foster Care, or other Programs.  Visit our shelter pets online: www.secondchancehumanesociety.org.  Direct Pet Column questions to:  kelly@secondchancehumanesociety.orgPhoto by Real Life Photographs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

