Posted by: secondchancehumanesociety | April 2, 2009

Interview with the Lovely Lulu

The Lovely Lulu

The Lovely Lulu

For this week’s Second Chance Humane Society Pet Column we decided to interview Lulu who has been with us almost three years (with 3 adoptions in between).  Lulu has had a rollercoaster of a life, although with more downs than ups.  As a result she demonstrates the effects of a life where uncertainty has been part of the undercurrent and trusting does not come readily. 

Lula came to Second Chance as a puppy and was adopted fairly quickly as is typically the case with puppies.  She was returned about a year later and had clearly suffered some trauma.  Although never aggressively fearful, she trembled and cowered around strangers. 

She did well in therapeutic foster care and, although adopted twice since then, she is back awaiting another chance.  Fortunately she is always embraced by her best friend, Gene, a very dedicated volunteer who continues to walk with her for hours and has shown that she can form a deep bond with a person.  Second Chance is very committed to finding the forever home that Lulu deserves and hopes this interview will lead her new family to her.

SCHS:  Lulu, what can you tell a prospective adopter that would help them to make your adoption successful?

Lulu:  Although I have worked very hard and made phenomenal progress, it takes me longer to trust and bond with people and this makes adoption very challenging as most people want to connect immediately with a pet they are adopting.  I will meet success with an adopter that believes in the power of love to heal all wounds – but understands that it takes time.

SCHS: You make it sound simple, there must be more to it than that?

Lulu: Of course, I also need a home where I am not left alone much, at least in the beginning, and where I have access to open space and receive regular vigorous exercise.  I have a great amount of energy and this really helps me to stay calm and grounded.  And, as I can feel overwhelmed in new environments – I would feel best with an adopter that understands this and slowly introduces me to new people and surroundings. 

SCHS: Do you think that such an adopter exists?

Lulu: I do, I have been waiting my entire life for my forever home and know my family is out there somewhere.  Sam, a shelter mate who was here for an entire year, recently found the perfect home and I thought she would be here forever.  And Magnus, a Bull mix like Sam who was treated for health issues for months after arriving, just found the love of his life.

SCHS: This is your fourth time being featured in the Pet Column – do you feel it will work this time?

Lulu: Hope has been my steady companion since first arriving here.  I am a great teacher in the art of believing and know it will finally all be worth the wait.

SCHS: If someone was interested in adopting you – what would be the best way for them to approach it?

Lulu:  My favorite part of the day is when I get out on a walk.  This is also when I most easily and quickly bond with people.  If someone could take me for some nice walks from the shelter it would be a great way for us to get to know one another.  Likely, it will take more than a few walks to allow me to shed my timidity but this is a great starting point.  Although it may not seem it at first – I just want to love and be loved, I just need my chance.

Call the Second Chance Helpline at 626-2273 to report a lost pet, learn about adopting a homeless pet, or about the SCHS Spay/Neuter Financial Assistance, Volunteer & Foster Care, or other Programs.  Visit our shelter pets online: www.secondchancehumanesociety.org.  Direct Pet Column questions to:  kelly@secondchancehumanesociety.orgPhoto by Real Life Photographs.

 

 

   
Leave a Reply

Categories

