Posted by: secondchancehumanesociety | January 2, 2008

Rusty Le Pouf – Pet Resolutions, January 2008

Rusty Le Pouf

Rusty Le Pouf

Dear Pet Column Readers,

 

Happy 2008, my name is Rusty Le Pouf (aka, the cute little kitty at the Second Chance shelter with poofy orange and white hair) and I am honored to be the first featured shelter pet columnist of 2008. It being a new year and all, I thought I should write about New Year resolutions.

 

Many resolutions are typically forgotten after a few weeks or so into January, surfacing in consciousness every now and then only to generate guilt at how easily they were discarded.

 

I think the reason these grand commitments to positive change aren’t maintained is that they are not interesting or compelling enough to hold one’s attention. “I will lose 15 pounds by the end of spring” is about as exciting as filing your taxes. So I suggest you make your resolutions a bit more enticing. Below are some ideas:

 

  1. Play, dance, sing, and enjoy nature with my pets every day.
  2. Cuddle, lounge, and eat yummy treats with my pets every day.
  3. Teach my pet a cool new trick that will bring us both fame and fortune.
  4. Take an art class and make a very cool and creative ID tag for my pet.
  5. Teach my pet to sing to my favorite song.
  6. Remember every day how much I love my pet.

 

Pets like to make resolutions too and my shelter mates here at Second Chance have put a few together to share with you (and hopefully increase our chances for adoption…). The first six are from the shelter dogs:

 

1. I will not eat the cats’ food before they eat it or after they throw it up.
2. I will not roll on dead stinky things, no matter how fragrantly alluring.
3. Sticking my nose into someone’s crotch is an unacceptable way of saying “hello” and I will refrain from doing so, to the best of my ability.

4. I will not munch on “Scooby Snacks” in the kitty litter box, although they are tasty.
5. I will remember to not bark at the garbage collector and that he is not stealing our stuff.

6. The cat is not a ‘squeaky toy’ so when I play with him and he makes that noise, it’s time to stop playing.

The next six are from the cats:


1. I will remember that the sofa is not a ‘face towel’, neither are Mom or Dad’s laps.

2. I will not use the house plants as kitty litter.
3. I will not toss my toys in the toilet to see if they will float.

4. I will not see how far I can throw kitty litter across the floor from my litter box.

5. I will not tickle my new parents noses at 4 in the morning.

6. I will not sit in the middle of the living room and lick my crotch when we have company.

 

As none of these resolutions are particularly exciting to dogs and cats, there is no guarantee they will be adhered to, but we’ll give them a try, at least until mid-January…

 

Happy New Year from all the loveable pets at Second Chance!!

 

Call the Second Chance Helpline at 626-2273 to report a lost pet, learn about adopting a homeless pet, or about the SCHS Spay/Neuter Voucher Program, Volunteer & Foster Care, or other pet questions. For more information on SCHS, or to visit our shelter pets online, go to: www.secondchancehumanesociety.org. Responses to this week’s column or questions for next week’s column can be sent to: vol-ed@secondchancehumanesociety.org

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

